Select by branch

STEP Events in Australia

Date Event Venue
Friday 3 February 2017 STEP Qld Branch Program Launch and Networking Event The College of Law - Rooftop Terrace, 140 Ann Street, Brisbane
Tuesday 7 February 2017 Lunchtime seminar

Disposal of bodily remains – the current Queensland position

Caite Brewer TEP and Angela Rae, Queensland Bar

Queensland Law Society, 179 Ann Street, Brisbane
Wednesday 15 February 2017 Seminar

Issues with the use of ADR in Will Disputes

Ian Davidson SC

Banco Court, Supreme Court of NSW
Wednesday 15 February 2017 Seminar

Ethics Unplugged

Professor Derek Parkin OAM

Perth
Tuesday 7 March 2017 Lunchtime seminar

Superannuation changes – estate planning impacts

Clinton Jackson TEP, Cooper Grace Ward Lawyers

Queensland Law Society, 179 Ann Street, Brisbane
Friday 10 March 2017 7th Annual Trusts Symposium

The 7th Annual Trusts Symposium, presented by STEP South Australia branch in conjunction with the Law Society of South Australia

Hilton Adelaide Ballroom, Victoria Square, Adelaide
Thursday 16 March 2017 Seminar

Applications for Probate and Letters of Administration – Part 2

Louella McFarlane TEP

Perth
Tuesday 21 March 2017 2017 Intensive Seminar

Capacity, Disability and Substituted Decision-Making

Queensland Law Society, 179 Ann Street, Brisbane
Wednesday 22 March 2017 Seminar

Super Taxes You Need to Know & Death Estate Planning Strategies under the New $1.6m Pension Cap Rules

Ben Symons

Banco Court, Supreme Court of NSW
Monday 27 March 2017 Seminar

Superannuation update – the path forward

Professor Mark Norris

Rigby Cooke Lawyers, Melbourne
Wednesday 5 April 2017 Seminar

Succession Planning – The Role of the Lawyer and the Accountant

Elizabeth Heenan TEP and Loreena Gillon TEP

Perth
Wednesday 19 April 2017 Seminar

Estate planning – the capital gains tax implications

Philip de Haan

Banco Court, Supreme Court of NSW
Monday 8 May 2017 Special interst group – estate planning

Power of attorney update and superannuation death benefit planning

(Members only)

Tuesday 9 May 2017 Lunchtime seminar

Family provision application mediations – putting your best foot forwards

Lee Nevison TEP, Queensland Bar

Queensland Law Society, 179 Ann Street, Brisbane
Thursday 11 May 2017 STEP South Australia Branch Annual General Meeting Naval Military and Air Force Club, Adelaide
Thursday 11 May 2017 Lecture

Practical blue sky thinking from recent trust law developments

(Lecture with Q&A)

Naval Military and Air Force Club, Adelaide
Wednesday 17 May 2017 Seminar

Being tax ready with non-resident beneficiaries of family trusts

Michael Bennett

Banco Court, Supreme Court of NSW
Thursday 18 May 2017 Roundtable (members only)

The roundtable discussions are for STEP Qld members only, and provide a forum for discussion of a topical case or issue.  The topic will be announced shortly before the roundtable.

Vincents Chartered Accountants, Level 34 Santos Place, 32 Turbot Street, Brisbane
Monday 22 May 2017 Seminar

Charitable trusts – tricks and traps in drafting

Mercia Chapman TEP

McKean Park Lawyers, Melbourne
Monday 22 May 2017 STEP Victoria branch AGM McKean Park Lawyers, Melbourne
Wednesday 24 May 2017 Seminar

Mental Health Awareness for the Workplace

Esther Schwald

Perth
Tuesday 6 June 2017 Lunchtime seminar

Constructive trusts – how to prove your claim

Denis Barlin TEP, NSW Bar

Queensland Law Society, 179 Ann Street, Brisbane
Monday 19 June 2017 Special interest group – litigation

TFM – eligibility – how has the Court interpreted the new legislation?  Who is now missing out?

(Members only)

Tuesday 20 June 2017 Lecture

Bankruptcy and its impact on deceased estates

Sally Nash

Naval Military and Air Force Club, Adelaide
Wednesday 21 June 2017 Seminar

Stamp duty, Land Tax and Deceased Estates

Andrew Rider

Banco Court, Supreme Court of NSW
Thursday 13 July 2017 Seminar

Risk management for trust and estate lawyers

Fiona Hasley

Perth
Thursday 13 July 2017 Roundtable (members only)

The roundtable discussions are for STEP Qld members only, and provide a forum for discussion of a topical case or issue.  The topic will be announced shortly before the roundtable.

Vincents Chartered Accountants, Level 34 Santos Place, 32 Turbot Street, Brisbane
Monday 17 July 2017 Seminar

Trust fundamentals

Phillip Bender

Aitken Partners, Melbourne
Wednesday 19 July 2017 Seminar

Trusts – A 21st Century Look at a Centuries Old Planning Tool [A look at how easy it is to get it wrong, but the simple rules for getting it right]

Peter Bobbin TEP

Banco Court, Supreme Court of NSW
Wednesday 19 July 2017 Lecture

The use of powers of appointment in wills

Naval Military and Air Force Club, Adelaide
Tuesday 1 August 2017 Lunchtime seminar

Missing beneficiaries – Benjamin orders and the role of the Public Trustee

Mark Crofton TEP, Official Solicitor to The Public Trustee of Queensland

Queensland Law Society, 179 Ann Street, Brisbane
Wednesday 2 August 2017 STEP Australia Conference 2017

Wednesday 2 August – Friday 4 August 2017

For further details, see here.

The Langham Hotel, Melbourne
Wednesday 16 August 2017 Seminar

Topic and speaker to be confirmed

Banco Court, Supreme Court of NSW
Monday 28 August 2017 Special interest group – estate planning

Live interests v rights to reside

(Members only)

Thursday 31 August 2017 Half day seminar

Horses for Courses – Appearing in the State Administrative Tribunal and Enduring Power of Attorney Update

Keynote Speaker:
Dr Bertus De Villiers

Presenters:
Mark Fatharly TEP
Garry Robertson
Alison Gilbert TEP
Andrew Davies TEP
Charlotte Wallace

For further information and to register, see here

Perth
Friday 8 September 2017 QLD Annual Trusts and Estates Conference

The STEP Queensland branch Annual Conference is now in its 7th year.

The Conference commences with a welcome drinks reception on the evening of 7 September.

Peppers SALT Resort, Kingscliff, NSW
Monday 11 September 2017 Seminar

VCAT, powers of attorney and compensation regime

Bernadette Steele

Equity Trustees, Melbourne
Wednesday 13 September 2017 Seminar

CGT on a deceased’s residence – a tax minefield

Ian Raspin TEP

Perth
Wednesday 20 September 2017 Seminar

Topic to be confirmed

Allan Cameron

HLB Mann Judd, Level 19, 207 Kent Street, Sydney
Thursday 28 September 2017 Lecture

The accountability of those adminstering the property of others

Dr James A Watson

Naval Military and Air Force Club, Adelaide
Wednesday 18 October 2017 Seminar

Topic and speaker to be confirmed

Argyle Lawyers, Level 18, 50 Bridge Street, Sydney
Thursday 19 October 2017 Roundtable (members only)

The roundtable discussions are for STEP Qld members only, and provide a forum for discussion of a topical case or issue.  The topic will be announced shortly before the roundtable.

Mullins Lawyers, Level 21 Riverside Centre, 123 Eagle Street, Brisbane
Tuesday 24 October 2017 Lunchtime seminar

NB: this seminar has been rescheduled, to 24 October

Multi-jurisdictional estates – planning and administration issues

Ines Kallweit TEP, McKean Park Lawyers, Melbourne

Queensland Law Society, 179 Ann Street, Brisbane
Tuesday 24 October 2017 Case studies

Succession planning: Critical tax and evaluation issues

Naval Military and Air Force Club, Adelaide
Thursday 26 October 2017 Half day conference

What to do if you beleive you have a forged document

TFM – eligibility criteria

Trusts, probate and unusual cases

RACV, Melbourne
Thursday 26 October 2017 Seminar

Drafting wills to avoid duty problems

Grahame Young TEP

Perth
Wednesday 8 November 2017 Seminar

Charitable Trusts Act applications

Carol Conley and Jim O’Donnell TEP

Perth
Monday 13 November 2017 Special interest group – litigation

(Members only)

Wednesday 22 November 2017 STEP Qld Branch AGM and Christmas Drinks
Wednesday 22 November 2017 Seminar

Topic and speaker to be confirmed

Banco Court, Supreme Court of NSW
Wednesday 6 December 2017 Christmas party Perth
Thursday 7 December 2017 Members’ dinner with lecture

Lecture by the Hon. Justice Stanley: “Costs in probate and fmaily inheritance matters”

The Cathedral Room, Adelaide Oval
Monday 11 December 2017 Panel discussion and end of year celebration Russell Kennedy Lawyers, Melbourne
Friday 9 March 2018 8th Annual Trusts Symposium Adelaide Hilton

STEP South Australia Branch presents an Annual Trusts Symposium - for further details see here

STEP Queensland Branch presents an Annual Trusts and Estates Conference - for further details see here

STEP Australia 2017 Conference - see here

The STEP Worldwide events calendar is accessible here